fox

Event

Agenda

Animal Legal Defense Fund Virtual Student Convention 2020

Agenda

Animal Legal Defense Fund Virtual Student Convention 2020
Saturday, October 17 – Sunday, October 18, 2020

Saturday, October 17, 2020

9:30 – 10:45 a.m. PT/12:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET Career Panel

Welcome remarks by Stacey Gordon Sterling, Animal Law Program Director, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Kate Barnekow, Clinical Fellow, Animal Law & Policy Program, Harvard Law School

Jamie Contreras, Senior Staff Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Eric Glitzenstein, Director of Litigation, Center for Biological Diversity

Kelly Levenda, Senior Student Programs Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Nancy Perry, Senior Vice President of Government Relations, The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA)

Joan Schaffner, Associate Professor of Law, George Washington Law School

Moderator: Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

This is your chance to ask questions and hear insights from leaders in the field of animal law. Panelists from varying backgrounds will share their stories and offer their advice on how to do what you love in a way that you’ll love! The panel will largely be interactive with student questions leading the discussion.

10:45 – 11:00 a.m. PT/1:45 – 2:00 p.m. ET Break

11:00 – 11:45 a.m. PT/2:00 – 2:45 p.m. ET Keynote Presentation featuring Kathy Hessler

Kathy Hessler, Clinical Professor of Law and Animal Law Clinic Director, Center for Animal Law Studies at Lewis & Clark Law School

Moderator: Nicole Pallotta, Senior Policy Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m PT/2:45 – 3:00 p.m. ET Chapter of the Year Awards Presentation

Kelly Levenda, Senior Student Programs Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Student Chapter of the Year Award Winners:

American University Washington College of Law
Florida A&M University College of Law

Sunday, October 18, 2020

7:15 – 8:45 a.m. PT/10:15 – 11:45 a.m. ET Student Summit: East Coast & Central Breakout Groups

Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

 Kelly Levenda, Senior Student Programs Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Alyssa Sander, Animal Law Program Fellow, Animal Legal Defense Fund

This is your opportunity to chat with fellow student members, share ideas, and discuss your chapter’s successes and any issues that you have encountered. The Summit will feature resources and opportunities available to students, guidance on how to keep chapters active while campuses are virtual, and round-table discussions on various chapter- and student-related topics.

8:45 – 9:00 a.m. PT/11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET Break

9:00 – 10:30 a.m. PT/12:00 – 1:30 p.m. ET Law Student Scholarship Panel

Bianka Atlas, Lewis & Clark Law School, LL.M. 2020

Balancing the Scales: The Welfare of Fish in New Zealand Aquaculture

Danielle Palermo, Vermont Law School, J.D. 2021

A Ribbiting Proposal: Using the Animal Health Protection Act to Combat the Global Spread of Frog-Killing Chytrid Fungus

Kaela Sculthorpe, Florida A&M Univ. College of Law, J.D. 2020

Ethical Management of Invasive Species: The Burmese Python

Moderator: Stacey Gordon Sterling, Animal Law Program Director, Animal Legal Defense Fund

As the next generation of animal lawyers and policy makers, students are already doing great work exploring cutting-edge legal theories as well as considering practical ways to use the law to help animals. In its fourth year, the Law Student Scholarship Panel will showcase some of this work, with a focus on environmental impacts on animals.

This panel features three authors chosen to present their papers, which were selected by a committee of prominent animal law professors. Listen to their ideas and help shape the conversation as it moves forward.

10:30 – 10:45 a.m. PT/1:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET Break

10:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. PT/1:45 – 3:15 p.m. ET Student Summit: West Coast & Mountain Breakout Groups

Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Kelly Levenda, Senior Student Programs Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Alyssa Sander, Animal Law Program Fellow, Animal Legal Defense Fund

This is your opportunity to chat with fellow student members, share ideas, and discuss your chapter’s successes and any issues that you have encountered. The Summit will feature resources and opportunities available to students, guidance on how to keep chapters active while campuses are virtual, and round-table discussions on various chapter- and student-related topics.

How We Work

Location:

Online

Related