lemurs

Event

Animal Legal Defense Fund Student Convention

Virtual Student Convention 2021

Saturday, September 25, 2021

The Animal Legal Defense Fund Virtual Student Convention 2021 was a one day event that provided an opportunity for law students to receive career advice from leaders in the animal law field. Participants also had a chance to network with law students from schools across the country and beyond.

Agenda

Saturday, September 25, 2021

9:00 – 10:30 a.m. PT / 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. ET
Career Panel

Welcome remarks by Stacey Gordon Sterling, Animal Law Program Director, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Nadia Adawi, Executive Director, Animal Welfare Institute

Elizabeth Baker Esq., Regulatory Policy Director, Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine

Nicholas Fromherz, Senior Staff Attorney and Adjunct Professor, Global Law Alliance, Lewis & Clark Law School

Caitlin Hawks, Deputy General Counsel for Litigation, PETA Foundation

Akisha Townsend Eaton, Managing Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Jessica Rock, Georgia Statewide Animal Crimes Prosecutor & Trainer and Assistant District Attorney, Towaliga Judicial Circuit

Moderator: Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

This is your chance to ask questions and hear insights from leaders in the field of animal law! Panelists from varying backgrounds will share stories and offer their advice on how to do what you love in a way that you’ll love. This interactive panel will feature plenary Q&A with our panelists, followed by small-group video discussion.

10:30 – 10:45 a.m. PT / 1:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET
Break

10:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PT / 1:45 – 3:00 p.m. ET
Law Student Scholarship Panel: The Animal-Industrial Complex

Bailey Frank, Duke Univ. Law School, 3L
Not for Human Consumption: How to Alleviate the Cruelty Plaguing the Pet Food Industry in the United States

Ryne Smith, The Univ. of Alabama School of Law, 3L

Using Interest Convergence to Win Animal Rights

Jessica Tselepy, Queensland Univ. of Technology, 3L

A Fair Go for Farm Animals: How Australian Law Can Better Protect the Lives of Animals Used in the Agricultural Industry

Moderator: Alyssa Sander, Animal Law Program Fellow, Animal Legal Defense Fund

As the next generation of animal lawyers and policy makers, students are already doing great work exploring cutting-edge legal theories as well as considering practical ways to use the law to help animals. In its fifth year, the Law Student Scholarship Panel will showcase some of this work, with a focus on the Animal-Industrial Complex.

This panel features three authors chosen to present their papers, which were selected by a committee of prominent animal law professors. Listen to their ideas and help shape the conversation as it moves forward!

12:00 – 12:15 p.m. PT / 3:00 – 3:15 p.m. ET
Break

12:15 – 1:15 p.m. PT / 3:15 – 4:15 p.m. ET
Breakout Group Discussion

Join us for interactive video discussions to explore the topics below with presenters and other students! All breakout rooms will be open to attendees, and individuals are welcome to move between rooms during this session. 

Student Chapter Leadership
Kelly Levenda, Senior Student Programs Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund
Alyssa Sander, Animal Law Program Fellow, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Writing, Publication, and Presenting
Stacey Gordon Sterling, Animal Law Program Director, Animal Legal Defense Fund
Nicole Pallotta, Senior Policy Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Education & Academic Outreach Opportunities
Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund
Rajesh K. Reddy, Global Animal Law and Animal Law Advanced Degree Program Director, Center for Animal Law Studies at Lewis & Clark Law School

Resources

 

How We Work

Location:

Online

Related