lemurs

Event

Agenda for the Animal Legal Defense Fund Student Convention

Agenda

Saturday, September 25, 2021

9:00 – 10:30 a.m. PT / 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. ET
Career Panel

Welcome remarks by Stacey Gordon Sterling, Animal Law Program Director, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Nadia Adawi, Executive Director, Animal Welfare Institute

Elizabeth Baker Esq., Regulatory Policy Director, Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine

Nicholas Fromherz, Senior Staff Attorney for the Global Law Alliance, Center for Animal Law Studies at Lewis & Clark Law School

Caitlin Hawks, Deputy General Counsel for Litigation, PETA Foundation

Akisha Townsend Eaton, Managing Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Jessica Rock, Georgia Statewide Animal Crimes Prosecutor & Trainer and Assistant District Attorney, Towaliga Judicial Circuit

Moderator: Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

This is your chance to ask questions and hear insights from leaders in the field of animal law! Panelists from varying backgrounds will share stories and offer their advice on how to do what you love in a way that you’ll love. This interactive panel will feature plenary Q&A with our panelists, followed by small-group discussion.

10:30 – 10:45 a.m. PT / 1:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET
Break

10:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PT / 1:45 – 3:00 p.m. ET
Law Student Scholarship Panel: The Animal-Industrial Complex

As the next generation of animal lawyers and policy makers, students are already doing great work exploring cutting-edge legal theories as well as considering practical ways to use the law to help animals. In its fifth year, the Law Student Scholarship Panel will showcase some of this work, with a focus on the Animal-Industrial Complex.

This panel features three authors chosen to present their papers, which were selected by a committee of prominent animal law professors. Listen to their ideas and help shape the conversation as it moves forward! Speakers will be announced in the coming weeks.

12:00 – 12:15 p.m. PT / 3:00 – 3:15 p.m. ET
Break

12:15 – 1:15 p.m. PT / 3:15 – 4:15 p.m. ET
Breakout Group Discussion

Join us for interactive discussions to explore the topics below with presenters and other students! All breakout rooms will be open to attendees, and individuals are welcome to move between rooms during this session.

Student Chapter Leadership
Kelly Levenda, Senior Student Programs Attorney, Animal Legal Defense Fund
Alyssa Sander, Animal Law Program Fellow, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Writing, Publication, and Presenting
Stacey Gordon Sterling, Animal Law Program Director, Animal Legal Defense Fund
Nicole Pallotta, Senior Policy Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund

Education & Academic Outreach Opportunities
Priscilla Rader Culp, Education Program Manager, Animal Legal Defense Fund
Rajesh K. Reddy, Director, Global Animal Law and Animal Law Advanced Degree Programs, Center for Animal Law Studies at Lewis & Clark Law School

 

How We Work

Location:

Online

Related